“Automatic Login” allows that a given user is automatically logged in, so there is no need to enter a password. This is obviously not secure, because everybody who has access to your Mac can get in and has access to your data including your keychain (where other passwords are stored).

How to fix it

macOS 10.11 – 11.0

  1. Go to “System Preferences” > “Users & Groups” > “Login Options”
  2. At “Automatic Login” choose “Off”

Keep in mind: not every security and privacy setting is suitable for everyone. Enhancing the security can lead in losing functionality and/or comfort.
Before making changes, please backup your Mac! Do not make too many change at once. After changing your Mac, check if your normal usage of your Mac has changed in a way which fits to you. Are your really willing to loose some functionality and/or comfort?
Most important is, that you learn and understand what are the advantages and disadvantages of the security settings and that you are aware about the capabilities and risks of your Mac configuration.

To skip this result message from your next security scan, you can deactivate this check. FAQ: How to deactivate a check.

CHECK RESULTS BY SIMPLEUMCHECK DO NOT COVER ALL ASPECTS OF POSSIBLE SECURITY CHECKS OR MAYBE INCORRECT OR INCOMPLETE. THE RESULTS ARE ONLY CLUES FOR RECOMMENDATIONS TO IMPROVE SECURITY AND PRIVACY ON THE MAC.

The use of SimpleumCheck, the checks and FAQ articles are provided under the SimpleumCheck Terms and Conditions.