Files are decrypted when you take them of the Safe e.g. Drag & Drop to Finder. If you organize files within the Safe like move, copy, rename or tagging, the files are not decrypted.
When you preview or edit a file the file is decrypted while it is exported to the Secure Temporary Storage which is encrypted itself.