← Basic Checks

Basic · Check result

Screen Sharing should be disabled

While your screen is being shared, the user of the other Mac sees what’s on your screen and can open, move, and close files and windows, open apps, and even restart your Mac. You should definitely disable this feature.

How to fix it

macOS 13 - 14

  1. Open “System Preferences”
  2. Go to “General” > “Sharing”
  3. Disable “Screen Sharing”
Sharing settings in macOS: Screen Sharing should be disabled

macOS 10.11 – 12

  1. Go to “System Preferences” > “Sharing”
  2. Disable “Screen Sharing”
Sharing settings in macOS: Screen Sharing should be disabled