Prevent Apple Mail from automatically loading remote content

HTML email can include visible or invisible remote images, sometimes called tracking pixels. When Mail downloads that content, senders may be able to learn information about your email activity or IP address. Mail provides two different privacy approaches: protect your activity while loading content privately, or block all remote content until you choose to load it.

How to fix it

macOS 13 and later

  1. Open the Mail app and choose Mail > Settings > Privacy.
  2. To hide your IP address and download remote content privately in the background, select Protect Mail Activity.
  3. To prevent remote content from downloading until you choose to load it, deselect Protect Mail Activity, keep Hide IP Address selected, and select Block All Remote Content.

Protect Mail Activity is useful when you want to reduce what senders learn about when you read email. Block All Remote Content is the stricter choice when you do not want Mail to download remote images automatically.

macOS 10.11 – 12

  1. Open “Mail” > “Preferences” > “Viewing”
  2. Deselect “Load remote content in messages”

More information


You might also be interested in

Check your security settings

SimpleumCheck Screenshot

SimpleumCheck checks the security settings on your Mac in three stages and gives you recommendations on how you can improve your security even further.

For Free

Protect and encrypt your data

SimpleumSafe Screenshot


Protect your data with SimpleumSafe App for Mac, iPhone and iPad. Don’t compromise when it comes to protecting your data.


Other security setting to check


PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING TIP AND DISCLAIMER!

Keep in mind: not every security and privacy setting is suitable for everyone. Enhancing the security can lead in losing functionality and/or comfort.
Before making changes, please backup your Mac! Do not make too many change at once. After changing your Mac, check if your normal usage of your Mac has changed in a way which fits to you. Are your really willing to loose some functionality and/or comfort?
Most important is, that you learn and understand what are the advantages and disadvantages of the security settings and that you are aware about the capabilities and risks of your Mac configuration.

To skip this result message from your next security scan, you can deactivate this check. FAQ: How to deactivate a check.

CHECK RESULTS BY SIMPLEUMCHECK DO NOT COVER ALL ASPECTS OF POSSIBLE SECURITY CHECKS OR MAYBE INCORRECT OR INCOMPLETE. THE RESULTS ARE ONLY CLUES FOR RECOMMENDATIONS TO IMPROVE SECURITY AND PRIVACY ON THE MAC.

The use of SimpleumCheck, the checks and FAQ articles are provided under the SimpleumCheck End User License Agreement (EULA).