Turn off Spotlight search suggestions and reduce data sharing
Spotlight remains useful for finding local files and apps. Depending on your settings, it can also show related content from Apple partners and allow Apple to use Spotlight, Safari, Siri and Lookup search queries to improve Search. Review the following settings if you want to reduce those optional connections.
How to fix it
macOS 15 and later
- Choose Apple menu > System Settings, then select Spotlight in the sidebar.
- Turn off Show Related Content to stop related content from Apple partners appearing in Spotlight and Lookup.
- Turn off Help Apple Improve Search if you do not want Apple to use your Spotlight, Safari, Siri and Lookup search queries to improve Search.
- To review app-specific suggestions, choose Apple menu > System Settings > Apple Intelligence & Siri > Siri Suggestions & Privacy, then adjust the apps that should not show or learn from suggestions.
The available labels depend on your macOS version, language and region.
macOS 13 – 14
- Choose Apple menu > System Settings > Siri & Spotlight.
- Review the available Siri Suggestions settings and turn off the suggestions you do not want to use.
macOS 10.11 – 12
- Go to “System Preferences” > “Spotlight”
- Deselect “Allow Spotlight Suggestions in Look up”
- AND
- macOS 11.0: Deselect “Siri Suggestions”
- macOS 10.12-10.15 :Deselect “Spotlight Suggestions” in the category list
- OS X 10.11: Deselect “Bing Web Searches”
More information
You might also be interested in
Check your security settings
SimpleumCheck checks the security settings on your Mac in three stages and gives you recommendations on how you can improve your security even further.
For Free
Protect and encrypt your data
Protect your data with SimpleumSafe App for Mac, iPhone and iPad. Don’t compromise when it comes to protecting your data.
Other security setting to check
PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING TIP AND DISCLAIMER!
Keep in mind: not every security and privacy setting is suitable for everyone. Enhancing the security can lead in losing functionality and/or comfort.
Before making changes, please backup your Mac! Do not make too many change at once. After changing your Mac, check if your normal usage of your Mac has changed in a way which fits to you. Are your really willing to loose some functionality and/or comfort?
Most important is, that you learn and understand what are the advantages and disadvantages of the security settings and that you are aware about the capabilities and risks of your Mac configuration.
To skip this result message from your next security scan, you can deactivate this check. FAQ: How to deactivate a check.
CHECK RESULTS BY SIMPLEUMCHECK DO NOT COVER ALL ASPECTS OF POSSIBLE SECURITY CHECKS OR MAYBE INCORRECT OR INCOMPLETE. THE RESULTS ARE ONLY CLUES FOR RECOMMENDATIONS TO IMPROVE SECURITY AND PRIVACY ON THE MAC.
The use of SimpleumCheck, the checks and FAQ articles are provided under the SimpleumCheck End User License Agreement (EULA).