What is Extreme Secure Synchronization?

At SimpleumSafe, everything revolves around security, so we have developed the “Extrem Secure Synchronization”. Even if the synchronization data was stolen from the cloud and the password became public, it is not possible to decrypt the data.

How do we achieve this?

Each Safe is encrypted and consists of three main types of data.

  1. the meta data (this is an encrypted database that contains information such as file name, file size, …).
  2. the encrypted data files (they contain the data of the individual files in encrypted form).
  3. the key file (it contains the encryption keys). Everything is encrypted with AES-256.

The data files are transmitted in their encrypted form. The synchronization protocol (what was changed) is also transmitted in encrypted form. So we have end-to-end encryption. Everything can only be decrypted if you know the Safe password and have the key file.

To further increase security, we do not transfer the key file directly. For example, if a Safe is to be transferred from a Mac to an iPhone for the first time, SimpleumSafe creates a synchronization configuration as an encrypted data set that can be transferred device-to-device wirelessly or as a file. The Safe password must then be entered and the Safe can be created and synchronized on the iPhone. This creates an additional barrier: Even if someone copies the synchronization data from a cloud or a shared folder and also knows your Safe password, the separate Safe key file is still missing. Synchronization data and the password alone are therefore not sufficient to decrypt the data.

The synchronization takes place in two steps. First the meta data is synchronized. These are, for example, file name, size, creation and modification date, ….

This means that if a particularly large amount of data is being synchronized or the connection is slow, these file names and folders may already be visible on another device, but the actual data has not yet been transferred. (This particularly applies to the iCloud synchronization used today, on whose transmission SimpleumSafe has no real influence). In this case the file names are still gray. In a second step, the file contents are synchronized and the file names are then black again.